Saturday, June 20, 2015

#6: New Orleans & Mexico, Summer 2009

New Orleans is one of the coolest cities I’ve seen so far – so rich in culture and so full of things to do. My mom’s side of the family is from there, so I’ve been many times, but I think this vacation was absolutely the best I’ve had in New Orleans. However, I’ve been to New Orleans and done different things there so many times that I’m going to include all the amazing things I’ve done and seen in New Orleans every time I’ve gone, not just during this specific trip. Mexico is not too shabby of a country either. We stopped in Cozumel, which I had visited once before when I was little, and Progreso, which was completely new to me. We also went to Mississippi for a small portion of this trip, but I’m not including it in here, because we literally only spent one night at an old friend’s house in Hattiesburg, and that’s the extent of it. There’s literally nothing for me to tell about that. So I’m going to stick with what I do know.

My family started out driving from our home in Georgia to Hattiesburg to spend a night visiting with our old friends, and then we made our way from there to New Orleans, where we visited with some family there and stayed in the cutest little hotel around the corner from the French Quarter and all the other main attractions in the city. Now, most of the things to see and do in New Orleans are within walking distance from each other, but there are some cool places to shop in Baton Rouge too, which is the next city over. From our hotel, though, we were able to walk pretty much everywhere, except to our family’s house. If your feet get tired from walking so much, you can take a $1 trolley to the French Quarter from lots of different locations in the area, and Ubers are cheap, because you don't have to go far to get where you need to go, in most cases. The city is very easy to navigate as well. It is like a grid, so you can basically take a left or right anywhere, and as long as you're heading in the right direction, you'll find the street you're looking for. The French Quarter & Jackson Square are right next to each other. There you will find tons of shops that contain Mardi Gras goods, like masks, shot glasses, apparel, artwork, beads, decorations, etc. Oh, the artwork! There are artists everywhere selling the most amazing works of art, mostly on the streets. There are people playing instruments, like the saxophone, all over the streets too. You’ll find street performers everywhere. They are fun to be around and don’t bug you or harass you, but they are super fun to watch and engage with. A lot of them will spray paint their entire bodies a single color, like gold or silver, and they’ll stand perfectly still for hours on end. There are tons of horse-drawn carriages looking to give people tours of the city if you like that kind of thing. There’s no telling what you’ll come across on the streets of New Orleans.

On one of our vacations, which I think was this one, actually, my family ran into actor Anthony Anderson shooting a new tv show on a random side street while we were walking around. He had a break from shooting, and he stepped aside and was so close to us that we called out to him to see if he’d take a photo with us, and he did! He was the nicest, most genuine guy. It was the neatest, most random thing that has ever happened to me, I think. It was totally unexpected, as we didn’t even know he was shooting anything in the city at the time.

If you have children, you should take them to the New Orleans Children’s Museum on Julia Street. I went there every time I visited New Orleans as a kid, and it’s the coolest place to go when you’re little. A few things that kids can do and see there include: 1. a platform where you can use a pulley to lift yourself into the air, 2. a huge bubble contraption where you create a bubble to surround your entire body (Adults can fit in it too,) 3. a make-believe grocery store where children can shop for their own groceries, 4. a make-believe restaurant where children can be either a server or a customer, etc. Also, children and adults alike love Mardi Gras World, where you can learn about and see floats that are used in Mardi Gras parades.

Now, if you’re looking for adult fun, which most people are when they go to New Orleans, I have some different kinds of suggestions. There are casinos everywhere, including the one at the Harrah's Hotel near the French Quarter, since gambling is legal. And if you really like to party, go during Mardi Gras, which is sometime during February and/or March every year. (It’s different every year.) I’ve actually never been to Mardi Gras, but it is on my Bucket List. I’ve heard it is the craziest party you’ll ever attend. Be careful, because it is definitely not kid-friendly, and I definitely wouldn’t recommend taking your boss there. You’ll see some of the most inappropriate things in your life at Mardi Gras. There are parades, prostitutes dancing on apartment balconies and street corners, women flashing everyone for some beads, etc. The parades go all over town, but the most outrageous place to party are on Bourbon Street. Even when it's not Mardi Gras time, this street has a lot of popular bars, dance clubs, gentlemen's clubs, etc. ***Edit: I have now been to Mardi Gras. I went in January 2016 after I had already written this blog entry. If you want to read about my experience there, check out my entry "Dodger Logic #7: Mardi Gras, New Orleans, January 2016."

Probably my favorite thing about New Orleans is none other than THE FOOD. I have never tasted anything better in my life than New Orleans food. You can find home-made pralines everywhere, and there are tons of different beignet cafes, but my favorite is Café du Monde in the French Market. New Orleans has authentic Jambalaya, Gumbo, Etouffee (with shrimp or crawfish,) boils (crab or crawfish,) and Red Beans & Rice. You can find Barq's Cream Soda there, which I know my mom loves, since that kind of soda isn’t sold in Georgia. There are tons of places to get frozen drinks in the French Quarter area, like Margaritaville & to-go bars. And check this out. There is no open container law, so you can walk down the street, margarita in hand! If you’re a seafood lover, then this is the place for you. And even if you’re not, I bet you will be after feasting on the cuisine here.  If you have a means to get to the West Bank, I would highly recommend a restaurant called New Orleans Food & Spirits. I have never tasted anything so incredibly delicious in my life! My uncle took me there the last time I visited him in New Orleans, which wasn’t actually during this particular vacation, and I will never go to New Orleans without eating there ever again! It was so hard to decide what to order on the menu, because everything looked incredible. If you go during dinner time, it's a bit on the pricy side, but you get enough food to last you 3 meals. If you go during lunch time, the prices are pretty normal, and you get just the right amount of food. (I'm pretty sure you can order the lunch portion for dinner too, though, but don't quote me on that.) If I remember correctly, I believe I got grouper stuffed with crawfish, along with grilled shrimp alfredo pasta on the side. It came with a lot of other things too, but I don’t exactly remember. I’m sure there were some hushpuppies involved. This was the best meal I’ve had in a long time!

From New Orleans, we boarded a cruise ship to Mexico. If you’ve never taken a cruise, you should definitely add that to your Bucket List, because there’s nothing quite like that experience. When I was little, my family took a Disney Cruise to Mexico, Key West, & The Grand Cayman Islands. That was the most incredible experience, as a kid – having a ton of Disney characters all over the ship to sign autographs and take pictures with us, having a Disney theme all around us, etc. But even if you’re not taking a Disney Cruise for the kids, cruises are so much fun. Most people don’t get sea sick, as you can barely, if at all, feel the movement of the ship, even when you’re sleeping. There’s so much to do on a cruise ship! On lots of ships, there are ziplines, huge water slides, pools, jacuzzis, bars with lots of alcohol, restaurants, snack bars, shops, casinos, karaoke rooms, shows, etc. It’s like Las Vegas on a big boat, except without the really neat hotels. For this particular cruise, we rode the Carnival Fantasy. Cozumel and Progreso, Mexico are mostly full of touristy things, like shops, artwork for sale, Marachi bands playing on the street for tips, people showing off their pet parrots for tips, etc. Be careful with the people selling things in shops and on the streets, because they are desperate for you to buy their goods. Some will actually follow you down the street to get you to buy something you have shown any interest in. With that being said, it’s really easy to haggle with them if you know what you’re doing. Most people will lower their prices significantly if you show some interest in something but tell them it’s too expensive. Now, with THAT being said, remember that you are probably a thousand times more well-off than they are, as people in Mexico tend to be very poor, so as long as it’s not an outrageous price, I recommend going ahead and paying the original price, because they really need that money. You can use USD in Cozumel & Progreso too, since they’re such touristy cities. Don’t worry about a language barrier in these tourist cities, as almost everyone speaks English. Oh, and don't buy the Cuban cigars. They are not real Cuban cigars.

Now, I think there is a certain charm about visiting touristy cities, especially when you go on a cruise, as that’s pretty much what you usually get when you go on a cruise. But I think a lot of people who enjoy traveling much prefer places that are more off the beaten path and not so touristy, so they get a chance to kind of live like the natives do. If you like this, which I think there’s a time and place for each of these, then Cozumel and Progreso are not for you. If you want something off the beaten path in Mexico, check out Chichen Itza in the Yucatan region. They are old Mayan ruins and pyramids outside of Cancún, which also gives you a chance to party after a long, adventurous day. This is on my Bucket List, as I have not been yet. Yes, that is a very touristy city too, but I wanted to mention it to all of the partiers out there.

Now, since I’ve only ever been to touristy cities in Mexico, I haven’t really ever had authentic Mexican cuisine in Mexico. However, I have had some in Georgia at authentic Mexican restaurants. Also, my boyfriend’s parents are from Mexico, so I get to eat his mom’s authentic cooking all the time. Mexicans do not eat burritos, enchiladas, or cheese dip like what you eat at “Mexican” restaurants. That’s totally Tex-Mex stuff, and it’s not near as good as the amazing, authentic Mexican food you can get elsewhere.  If you do ever go to Mexico, try some authentic food at “Ma & Pop” restaurants. You will be astounded at how much better authentic Mexican food is than the stuff you get at “Mexican” restaurants here in the U.S. My absolute favorite authentic Mexican food is a dish called Molcajete. You want a huge bowl full of chicken, steak, shrimp, chorizo, onions, cactus, and the best salsa you’ve ever tasted? Great, that’s what it is. I bet you anything you’ll also be able to find tamales, which are incredible, especially when made with Salsa Verde. Most Mexican cuisine is a bit spicy, but it’s not too spicy, so even if you don’t like spicy food, give it a shot! (I happen to like mildly spicy foods a lot, so this is right up my alley.) If you ever get the chance to try Pan de Leche (Milk Bread,) DO IT! It’s the best bread ever, and it’s sweet, so it’s a real treat.


Remember, certain places in Mexico can be dangerous, as there is a lot of unrest in certain places. Always utilize the “Buddy System,” and remain vigilant. I don’t think you would come into contact with any danger in Cozumel or Progreso, since it’s really only tourists that are in those cities anyway, but especially if you go off the beaten path, you want to remain vigilant. That really goes with any time you are somewhere where you are not familiar with the area. As a tourist or traveler, you have a target on your back when you go anywhere that you’re not familiar with, or where you don’t speak the language. Stay safe on your travels, my friends!

 Beignets at Cafe du Monde in New Orleans.

My cousin and me trying on some masks in New Orleans.

 This is actually from my more recent trip to New Orleans. Yummm, the food is delicious!

This is also from my more recent trip to New Orleans. The stores there are outrageous.

My sister and me dancing with a Mariachi band in Cozumel.

#5: Colorado, Summer 2009

Colorado is an incredibly beautiful state that will throw your head through loops with all the mountains and rock formations. Unfortunately, I was only in Denver for a few hours, so I don’t have anything to tell you about the capital city. However, I spent a whole week in Manitou Springs (Colorado Springs) at a family reunion with some family that lives in Nebraska, and it was amazing.

First off, we stayed in a log cabin, because there were like 20 of us. It was really cool, as all log cabins are, but I’m sure there are probably some cheap places to stay in the area. Manitou Springs is a decently small tourist town, so you want to stay where everything is. There’s a little town below the mountains where our log cabin was. (We had a car, so that made it easier for us to stay a little ways up the mountain from the town, but if you stay in the town, you should be able to walk most places.) However, the big things to see in the area might require the use of a bus or taxi. I don’t really remember how long it took us to drive to all of the places that we saw, which is why I wish I had started writing my travel blog when I started traveling, rather than years and years later. Anyway, as for the town, there are a lot of really neat shops and “Ma & Pop” restaurants. However, I can’t think of any specific restaurants to send you to, since I think we mostly ate groceries while we were there. My sisters, cousins, and I loved playing all over the town décor, especially the giant metal bicycles… Yes, we were very young. I was 18 and had just graduated from high school. That would have put my sisters at 14 & 15 and our cousins at 17 & 19. There are kiddie rides in the town if you have small children… Or teenagers that like to play on things they shouldn’t. The town is so adorable and fun to play around in when you have nothing to do but can’t go far. Hiking up the surrounding mountains is another way to enjoy this town, since it’s literally surrounded by gorgeous mountains. It’s a beautiful area. This would even be a good area to camp out. I know that we roasted some marshmallows, made S’mores, built bonfires, and relaxed in a hot tub in the backyard of the cabin we stayed in.

Now let’s get to the real stuff. The most amazing thing I saw in Colorado was the Garden of the Gods. The rock formations are outrageous and huge, and I’ve really never seen anything quite like it. The “Balancing Rock” was the coolest rock formation I saw. It’s a huge rock that literally balances perfectly on the rock platform below, and it is a natural formation. Any slight change in the shape/size of the rock, or any slight movements of the rock could make it topple over. Now, also, in a nearby town there are the “Cliff Dwellings,” which are notches that Native Americans carved out of the side of a cliff, and that was their home. They literally lived in notches that they carved out of the side of this cliff. They are pretty neat. The other “must-see” place in the area is Pike’s Peak. We drove almost all the way to the top, but security wouldn’t let us make it all the way to the top due to some climate issues that made it dangerous. It was so bizarre to drive from the heat below all the up a mountain that was covered in snow toward the top. It was freezing up there but hot down below, and I know that’s how really high mountains work, but it was still bizarre. We got to have a snowball fight during the summer! Who knows how long it had been since we had seen snow, so that was fun.

Apart from that, the weather is a little all over the place. It’s warm during the day, but it’s a bit chilly at night. And then, of course, if you decide to drive up Pike’s Peak, which I recommend that you do, then I’d recommend bringing winter clothes for while you’re up there. Remember Manitou Springs is all about nature. There aren’t a ton of tourist attractions, or at least from what I experienced, there. It’s all about spending a secluded week (or weekend) in the mountains with loved ones and getting back to nature. So if you’re looking to party or go to amusement parks, then Manitou Springs might not be the place to go. I do highly recommend it for nature lovers, though!

 The "Balancing Rock" in the Garden of the Gods.

My cousin and me playing on one of the metal bikes I was talking about.

Friday, May 29, 2015

#4: Seattle, Vancouver, & Portland, Summer 2012

A few years back, I went to Seattle, Washington to visit one of my best friends, Isabela. Every couple of years at the most, we like to go on vacations with each other, so this time, I decided to go visit her home this time. It was my first time to Seattle, and you bet I had her take me everywhere worth going up there. And we even got to visit some surrounding places too. First off, the best time to is during the summer. You have a better chance of getting some sunshine that way, and the weather is nice and warm when the sun is out. During the winter, it’s freezing, snowy, and extra rainy. It’s hard to go anywhere or do anything in that kind of weather. Since Seattle is constantly rainy, it’s worth it to check the weather before you book your flight. Try to catch the sunniest week of the summer, because it is so worth it to do that. I happened to go during an entire week of sunshine, and it was just gorgeous.  Mt. Ranier is gorgeous, and you can see it from anywhere in the Seattle/Tacoma area, but it’s about 2 hours away. It’s covered in snow, even in the summer, but I’m not sure how much snow entertainment goes on there during the summer. But the only real reason I can think of to go to Seattle during the winter is to go skiing and snowboarding at Mt. Ranier. I didn’t get to do that, since I went during the summer, but I might do it the next time I visit! Also, for all you environmentalists like me, you will love Seattle, because it is the norm to recycle out there. It is actually required that people recycle, and everyone is more than willing to do it, because they care about the environment. It’s a much different culture than what I’m used to. If you recycle in the south, you’re considered a liberal hippie, and a lot of people look down on you. Not only do they not care or see a point in recycling, but some people are even strongly against it, for whatever reason. So Seattle is definitely a nature-lover’s dream, and if you’re a good ol’ southern bell inside and out, it might take you a bit to get used to such a different culture when visiting Seattle. Also, don’t be confused by all the wires you see in Seattle, Vancouver, or Portland should you visit any of these places. A lot of their bus and train systems are electrically run. I told you these people care about the environment! All of the wires make for some bizarre sights on the streets, but they are efficient and environmentally friendly. Make sure to utilize the readily available public transportation in this area, as it is much more developed than in other parts of the country, such as Atlanta. However, I don’t have much information to offer on this, since we always used Isabela’s car to get around. The only time we used public transportation was when we took some buses around Vancouver, Canada one night. I can definitely tell you that was very simple and efficient public transit.

There are definitely some places that are worth visiting while you’re in the Seattle area. We started out in Tacoma, which is the city next to Seattle. I loved the Glass Museum. It looks like a silver cone sticking out of the ground, and even if you don’t go inside the museum, there are all kinds of really neat stain glass art pieces outside of the museum. There’s a stained glass-filled walkway leading up to the museum that you can walk under, and there’s stained glass art all over the entire Seattle area. There’s even a bridge leading up to the museum that has these enormous blue stained glass pieces lining the bridge. There are tons of beautiful parks to visit in Tacoma too. Again, this place is great for nature lovers. My friend and I spent a bit of time in Wright Park. Point Defiance is a state park that is gorgeous too. I met a very friendly raccoon there. Of course, it’s probably not safe to get too close, so be careful, but this little guy was so adorable and sweet! Puget Sound is a beautiful area to hang around. A lot of the buildings have some really neat architecture – like the University of Puget Sound, which looks like a bunch of castles, as well as a lot of churches. Definitely take a look at Stadium High School. It totally looks like Hogwarts! Back when I visited her, Isabela lived in the same neighborhood as the house where “Ten Things I Hate About You” was filmed, so I got to see that. The bars in Tacoma are pretty cool too. Isabela took me to one with live music and another one with karaoke, where her boyfriend and I sang a song together! Who doesn’t love karaoke? Fremont is another city not too far from Seattle and Tacoma, and there’s a troll that lives under the Fremont bridge that you have to see! Yes, I said a troll. Go check it out to see exactly what I’m talking about. In another city in the Seattle/Washington area, there was an AMC theater with couch seats. That was the most comfortable movie I’ve ever watched, even over watching a movie in my own home in pajamas. We also visited an alpaca farm in the area. Not that alpacas are meant for that kind of climate, but they were sure fun to play with. We sprayed them with water, and they jumped and played and had a grand ol’ time being sprayed. It was adorable! I’m not really sure if I should have mentioned that at all, though, since you probably wouldn’t be able to visit that farm. I got to go because the farm was owned by one of Isabela’s professors who invited us over.

Now, for the actual city of Seattle, get ready, because there’s a lot to see and do. I got to see the Space Needle. It might be worth it to go to the top, which I didn’t do, but at least I got to see it. The reason I didn’t go to the top is because I got to do something similar – The Seattle Great Wheel (an observation wheel) had literally just opened when I visited, so I rode that and got to overlook Seattle from way up high. It was pretty neat, although sometimes large ferris wheels freak me out a little bit. Right across from the Space Needle is the hospital where some of Grey’s Anatomy was filmed, which is way cool. Also, Pike’s Place Market is huge and amazing. There are all kinds of vendors there, which sell all kinds of amazing things, including fresh foods. It’s an outdoor market, but it’s HUGE! There’s a vendor at the market that sells the most delicious peaches ever – and that’s coming from a Georgian! Right across from the market is the world’s first Starbucks, which always has an extremely long line, of course. But I had plenty of time when I went, so I got a cup of coffee there. I’m sure you’ve heard of the gum wall in Seattle. And that wall is COVERED in gum. It’s pretty gross, but the pictures that artists make on the wall, completely made with gum, are pretty incredible. And don’t worry about spending tons of money on buses and taxis to get to all these places. They are all within walking distance from each other. Now, for food, stick to seafood while you’re in Seattle. It is so good! And I guess that makes sense, as there’s water all over that area of the country. Themes you will see all over Seattle and the surrounding cities: totem poles, Super Mario Bros, stained glass (as I mentioned previously,) and Asian-themed buildings/towns/arches.

Now, Portland, Oregon was a cool city. The entire city is full of hipsters who love classic and 80s rock. Band t-shirts are a huge thing there, and everyone loves rock music. I fit in pretty well there in my Nirvana and Led Zeppelin t-shirts. I also got to visit some really cool bars while I was there. One of the bars was a gamer bar – tons of arcade games, but inside a bar. Way cool. The women’s bathroom had a Pacman theme and flashing light-up sinks. I was way too impressed with this bar. I also got to see my very first Chinatown, which was really neat. It was like stepping into Asia for a night. While all of these things are really cool, the reason we went to Portland was to see the Vans Warped Tour. Honestly, personally, I wasn’t too impressed with the bands that were there. The only ones I had any interest in seeing were the Lostprophets, We the Kings, and Yellowcard, and the only one I actually got to see was Yellowcard. Maybe I’m not as into that kind of rock music as everyone else in Portland is, but I hadn’t even heard of most of the bands that were there. And it was a little difficult finding the right stages to hear the right bands at the right times. I completely missed the Lostprophets, due to not timing things correctly. And I mostly missed We the Kings, because we got there a few minutes before they started playing, and since the place was so crowded, the guards would only let people in when other people left first. So we waited outside for way too long before being able to enter, so I had to listen to We the Kings as best as I could from over the fence. They were finished with their portion of the concert by the time I actually entered the festival. Then, once I was inside, all hell broke loose. I am only 5’1, so I got trampled constantly. It was so crowded and hot outside that I was covered in sweat, and other people who were also covered in sweat got all their nastiness all over me as well, because we were packed in so tightly. One giant beast of a man was shirtless, and his back was covered in sweat, and he fell right on top of me. That was probably the nastiest thing that happened there. And since the ground was all gravel, there was dirt flying everywhere, and I was covered in it. There was nowhere to sit or rest, so it was hard to find a shaded place to sit, and it was really difficult to find level ground to sit on. People were so disgusting there. This one guy had a tent, so I asked if I could take refuge there for a minute, and he told me I could as long as I would shake my butt for him. Ummm, not worth it. There were porta-potties that, of course, did not have any soap, and they were probably about 130 degrees on the inside and weren’t ventilated. When I was listening to one band, some guys tried to push me into a mosh pit until I swung around and pushed them off of me. Then, while I was listening to Yellowcard, one guy I had never even seen before literally picked me up and threw me. Obviously, he was attempting to make me crowd surf, but he didn’t make sure anyone was looking, so he when he threw me, no one caught me, and I fell smack onto the ground. What was the purpose of that? I’ll never know. And then, as I was making my way through the crowd to find Isabela, I guess one girl didn’t like me pushing my way through, so she dumped her entire cup of beer on my head. Obviously this music festival did not have the classiest of attendees. I thoroughly hated the festival, and I would never recommend it to anyone. It was a waste of $40. And the people I purchased my ticket from were super shady.  It was more difficult than pulling teeth to get them to send me a rebate that I was told I would receive upon purchasing the tickets. It took about 6 months to receive it, and the company seemed to jerk me around all over the place. But really I don’t think Warped Tour had much, if any, bearing on the actual city of Portland. It was a neat city, and I had fun while I was there. The night life was definitely worth the trip out there. Plus, I got to see Mt. St. Helen on the roadtrip there, which was pretty cool.

While we were in the area, Isabela and I visited Vancouver, Canada. It's pretty easy to access, although there's a bit of traffic at the border. You need a passport to cross from the USA into Canada, but you don't need a visa. It was nice to leave the country for a day, but there wasn’t a whole lot that I saw to do in Vancouver, but maybe we just didn’t have enough time there. We stayed in an inexpensive dorm for the night at the University of British Columbia. I’m telling you, always stay in a hostel or dorm! They are cheap. The reason we stayed in this dorm is because we felt like it would be safer than a hostel, as it is on a university campus. I think we paid $40 for the dorm for one night. It is a beautiful campus too. If you don't drive there, you can always travel by electric bus. They're all over the place. We came across a gay pride festival while we were in Vancouver at night, and that seemed pretty neat. It was literally held in the middle of a street, so that street was blocked off. There is some awesome night life in Vancouver on the weekends for sure. Some things to see while in Vancouver include the Vancouver Skyline (another observation tower) and Canada Place (which looks strikingly like the Sydney Opera House.) I didn’t really find Vancouver too terribly interesting to visit, but I didn’t even have 24 hours there, so I’m sure that had something to do with it.

The northwest area of the U.S. is a really cool area. During the summer, it can be very beautiful, and for the most part, it’s usually not too hot outside. The nature is gorgeous, and people care a lot more about the environment up there. The cities are packed with things to do. I’d recommend almost all of the things I did (apart from Warped Tour.) And maybe I’d say don’t waste time going to Vancouver. The only reason I wanted to go was because I had never been to Canada before, and I thought that was weird, since Canada is a bordering country to my country! Lots of people in the U.S. have been to Canada. I have been to all kinds of countries around the world, and I’ve even lived in two countries outside of the U.S, and I couldn’t believe that I hadn’t even been to Canada. So really, if you want to go to Canada, I think I’d recommend spending time in Toronto over Vancouver, but I’ve never been to Toronto. I’ll write about that after I do visit Toronto one day! Anyway, Seattle in particular is a really neat city, and I think that’s definitely worth a trip out there. The next time I go out there, I think I’ll go during the winter, so as to experience the skiing and snowboarding that you can do at Mt. Ranier!

 The glass-filled walkway on the way to the Glass Museum in Tacoma, Washington.

 The Fremont Troll that lives under a bridge in Fremont, Washington!

 A Mario totem pole in Seattle, Washington.

 Look at that nasty gum wall in Seattle, Washington!

This is what I meant by gum art on the gum wall. :)

 Electric power lines for buses in Vancouver, Canada.

The Pacman-themed bathroom at the arcade bar in Portland, Oregon.

Tuesday, March 3, 2015

#3: England, France, & Spain, Summer 2010

This was a really cool trip. My family and I started out flying to London, England, and from there, we took an underwater train to Paris, France. From there, I believe we rented a car and drove to Alicante, Spain. Then we took a cheap flight back to London, from where we flew home. The flights from country to country in Europe are usually very cheap, since the countries are so close together. I even found a $6 flight online somewhere. I'm not kidding. I can't remember what countries that flight was between, but I know it was on my favorite European flight website, www.ryanair.com. But this isn't the only cheap European flight site out there. There are TONS. And these flights may not be as cheap as $6, but you will surely be able to find flights for under $40 to go from country to country. Just google "Cheap flights between European countries." I promise you you'll have a lot of sites pop up. And my advice to you would be, if you're flying to Europe from the U.S. like I have done twice now, take your trip as far as you possibly can. Take 2 weeks off work, instead of one, if you can. Save up as much money as possible, and go to as many places as possible while you're there, because it's expensive to get there. But keep in mind that, my step mom and I, both, have flown all over the place, and never have either of us paid more than about $800 to go ROUNDTRIP to a country outside of the U.S. You can find cheap flights out there. You just have to realize that you won't always be flying with an airline that is as comfortable as Delta, and you have to be flexible with your vacation dates. You also have to be smart about booking your flights. Make sure to buy your flight as soon as possible, at least over a month ahead of time. Once your trip is less than a month away, prices go up. That goes for any flight anywhere. However, if you aren't picky about where you're going, buy last minute flights, even same-day flights. Those will be the cheapest. Just a couple months ago, I searched for a cheap roundtrip flight to Nairobi, Kenya, and I found one that was a little bit more than $500. That's roundtrip! The catch is the trip was scheduled for three days after the date that I searched for the flight. Be flexible if your job will allow it, and you will save tons.

Along with cheap flights in Europe, and I've talked about this before, it was easy to travel between countries in Europe, because there are all kinds of networks of highly-developed transportation systems all over the continent, whether it be buses, trains, subways, or even cheap plane flights. In particular, London & Paris have highly advanced and easily accessible subway systems, which is what we used to get everywhere in those cities. Also, Europe is pretty easy for Americans to travel to, even though it's expensive, because most places don't require a visa, such as all 3 of these countries, but they do require a passport. Europe also has all kinds of cheap hostels all over the continent. My family and I stayed with other members of our family who live in Europe when we were in London and Alicante, and we stayed in a hotel in France. One other thing I should've mentioned in my Greece entry is that there's this cool thing called couch surfing. You can go to www.couchsurfing.com and sign up to find regular people who live all over the world and are willing to let you stay in their homes for free while you're on your vacation. But the catch is you provide the same service when people from other places want to visit your city. Is it safe? I don't really know. I've never actually done it myself. But it's a neat concept. And if you do more research on it, you may find out the site does background checks before letting just anyone sign up, so who knows? - Not that background checks always mean anything. But for those of you who are fearless, go for it if you want to save a lot of money on your trip. If you're willing to pay for your stay, you can find people's apartments, lofts, and homes on www.airbnb.com, where you can stay for all kinds of prices, including low ones.

While you're on this trip, you need to see EVERYTHING - all of the sites. Do everything that all of these countries are about. Below are some examples from each place that I did (Well, I didn't actually DO all of these things, but I did at least see all of these sights):

London:
1. Take a tour through London on a double-decker bus.
2. Play around in a telephone booth.
3. See Hyde Park. Maybe even have a picnic there.
4. See Westminster Cemetery.
5. Check out Westminster Abbey.
6. Gaze at the amazing Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament.
7. Walk across the London Bridge and Tower Bridge.
8. Ride the London Eye.
9. Check out Buckingham Palace.
10. Wander around through the London Tower. It has some really neat old-timey architecture and history. It's a strange sort of museum, really.
11. Try to make a royal guard laugh. It won't work, but it's fun to try.
12. Eat Fish 'N' Chips.
13. Get lost in Harrod's. It has to be the biggest store in the world. It has the most amazing toy store if you plan to bring your kids on this trip. It is incredible, even to me, and I'm an adult! But it's not just a toy store. It's like a mall inside a store. It's 6 stories high!
14. Check out as much architecture as you can, because the architecture is so old and incredible.
15. Take a trip out to Manchester to recreate The Beatles's album cover on Abbey Road.
16. Now this is something I didn't do that I wish I had done: Take a trip down to Salisbury to see Stonehenge. This is on my Bucket List.
17. This is also something I didn't do that I wish had been there when I was in England: The London Harry Potter Studio Tour. I believe this tour opened up to the public soon after I left London, but I plan on going back to do this someday.

Paris:
1. Check out the University of Paris.
2. Go all the way to the top of the Eiffel Tower. There's even a restaurant and shop up there. (There might be more.)
3. Check out the Seine River.
4. Tour through Notre Dame. It's incredible.
5. Again, this city has amazing architecture, so be sure to walk around, bus around, whatever, to see all the architecture.
6. See the Arc de Triomphe.
7. See the Mona Lisa at the Louvre.
8. Eat crepes, whether they are 4-cheese hot crepes for dinner or Nutella crepes for dessert. The best crepe I have ever had was a 4-cheese hot crepe for dinner at a restaurant in Paris.
9. I have heard the south of France is gorgeous and a much better use of your time than Paris. I can't say for sure, because I did not go anywhere other than Paris when I was in France, but I can tell you that you should definitely just get in and get out when you go to Paris. It is worth it to go, but Parisians don't like Americans, so you won't find a lot of hospitality there, especially if you are the loud and obnoxious type. So spend more of your time in other places besides Paris, but definitely make it one of your stops - just a quick stop, though.

Alicante:
Alicante has the most amazing views. The mountains are gorgeous, and they're everywhere. The architecture is cool, but the nature views and beaches in Alicante are what make this place special. Check out the Mediterranean Sea while you're out there. The water is nice. But honestly, if you travel all the way to Spain, don't miss Barcelona and Madrid. AT LEAST go to one of these cities. That is my biggest regret about my trip to Spain - I didn't go to Barcelona or Madrid, only Alicante. Now don't get me wrong. Alicante is amazing. It's the type of place you might go just to sit on top of a mountain with an incredible view and do nothing but yoga and swim all day every day. It's relaxing and beautiful. But don't forget to check out Barcelona for the culture, the architecture, the basilicas like Familia Sagrada, the cathedrals, the art, etc. Madrid is great for a different kind of culture, as well as plazas, museums, temples, basilicas, and palaces. Obviously, both cities have amazing architecture. So don't make the mistake I did and cut your Euro-trip short by neglecting to visit these 2 cities.

Of course, I suggest checking out as many countries as possible on your Euro-trip, but hey, you can't complain if these are the 3 you happen to get to on this go around. Just make sure to make the most of your trip and see as much as you can, as it is expensive to fly to Europe from the U.S. You might not be back for awhile, so do as much as you can while you have the chance!

 This is just some random architecture in London, England. Incredible!

 My siblings and me recreating The Beatles's album cover at Abbey Road in Manchester, England.

 My sisters and me at the top of the Eiffel Tower in Paris, France.

An amazing view in Alicante, Spain. This is my own personally photography. If you're interested in seeing more, check out my Facebook page called Jo Photography at https://www.facebook.com/pages/Jo-Photography/141857256277?ref=br_tf.

Tuesday, February 24, 2015

#2: Greece, Summer 2008

In the summer of 2008, I went on the most incredible trip to 3 places in Greece. I was only 17 when I went, and now I'm 24, so I'm probably writing this way too late to remember a lot of things, but I'll tell you what I do remember. I went with my Dad, step mom, and one of my sisters. My other sister and my brother were very little, so they stayed home. I would always suggest leaving small children at home for extravagant vacations, especially when they don't specifically cater to children.

Traveling through Europe is easy for Americans, because most places, such as Greece, don't require you to have a visa, but you must have a passport. Now, as far as food goes, definitely try out Greek food. They have amazing crepes and my all time favorite Greek food, Moussaka. My favorite Moussaka is Eggplant Moussaka. Gyros are good too. Check out lamb gyros. Now, remember, 18 is the drinking age in Greece, so if you bring your teenage son/daughter with you, let him/her drink! It's an experience they won't get to have until they turn 21 back in the United States. So let them have this. Just make sure to stay with them the whole night, and don't turn them loose. You can play D.D. for them for at least one night, and they don't even have to get drunk. At least let them have one drink. I had a lot of shots when I was in Greece, and I never got drunk, but I had a great time. Also, you should check out the nude beaches in Greece. They are not sexy at all, but they will give you lots of good laughs, and you'll have a lot to tell people when you get home. And you don't have to go naked. You can go completely dressed, but you'll see a lot! Also, swim in the Mediterranean Sea or, if possible, the Aegean Sea! You may not get another chance to do it in a long time, so check it out. The water's fine! As for where to stay, check out hostels. They are very cheap, and you can even get a cheap private room. That will make your money go farther. As far as the time of year to go, I believe I went during the end of May and beginning of June, and it was beautiful and warm but not too hot.

The first city my family and I went to was Athens, a classic. We stayed at a hotel overlooking the Parthenon on top of the Acropolis, which was amazing. Try to stay somewhere near the Parthenon, because that's where a ton of things to see and do are. It's a lot of walking, but not as much as if you were to stay a ways away from the city center. We did a lot of sight-seeing, mostly through tours. I would only suggest doing tours if you're afraid to venture out on your own or are bad with directions. If you like to explore, however, do it all on your own. It's a lot more fun and saves you time to do what you really want to do, not just what the tour takes you to do. Definitely climb to the top of the Acropolis to see the Parthenon. Definitely go see the Temple of Athena and the Temple of Poseidon. See as many temples as you can, as well as the Greek Colosseum. There is amazing architecture all over Greece, so make sure to see everything you can while you're there. If you like shoes, check out the sandal shops in Athens. The Greeks make the cutest strappy sandals. I bought a pair, but my sister stole them from and never returned them, although she will tell you otherwise. Anyway, I miss those shoes! Also, go see The Poet/The Sandalmaker if you like shoes. He's very famous in Greece and makes some neat shoes. He is not a must-do, but if you like shoes, I recommend paying him a visit. Check out as many outdoor cafes as you can. They are beautiful. However, homeless people will constantly come around and try to sell you things. The weirdest thing a guy ever tried to sell to me was a brillo pad, of which he demonstrated the use by rubbing on his feet. Gross. Yes, please, I'll take 10! These people don't speak English, so just ignore them. Also, children will come around and beg for food, so if you want to help them out, don't give them money. Instead, give them your leftovers if you aren't going to eat them. They will be extremely happy, take it from my personal experience.

The second place we went to was an island called Santorini, Greece. It was amazing! You know how you see pictures of steep cliffs with amazing blue and white houses going all the way down the cliffs? Santorini is where you'll see these. My dad and I rode donkeys up a mountain here, and my family and I climbed a volcano. There are all kinds of nice family-owned hotels/hostels for to stay in Santorini. They will be a lot cheaper than the big, name-brand hotels. Don't worry about those. That's just not how you're supposed to kick it in Santorini.

The third place we went to was Crete, Greece, which is another island, but we must not have spent much time there, because all I remember is meeting two really buff men at an outside cafe. I'm pretty sure they were in the Olympics or something. And the other thing I remember is seeing a Greek show with lots of wine and dancing. I'm not really sure about a lot to do in Crete, but honestly, I would suggest spending more time in Athens and Santorini. And there are a lot of other cool cities to see in Greece, such as Delphi if you like architecture and archaeology, as well as Sparta if you want to check out cities from old Greek mythology. While you're in Greece, you should also go to Istanbul, Turkey to see Hagia Sophia, other mosques, palaces, basilicas, and some amazing architecture. I wish I had done that. I know I will someday!

I'm sure there's a lot more to do in Greece, but this trip was a long time ago, so I don't remember every little detail from it. I know I loved it and want to go back, that's for sure! Anyway, let me know if you have anymore questions about this trip or need any advice. I highly recommend this trip. It's my favorite European country of the 4 European countries I've visited, and it's one of my favorite countries in the world that I've ever visited.

 The Temple of Poseidon. There's plenty where this came from.

 This kind of architecture is all over Santorini.


#1: Las Vegas & the Grand Canyon, February 2015

I just got back from an incredible trip to Las Vegas, Nevada, as well as the Grand Canyon, Arizona. I just started this new blog and figure I might share my world travels with you guys, so maybe I can offer up some advice if anyone is thinking of traveling to the places I've already been. First of all, I would absolutely recommend going to both of these places. I spent 5 days in Las Vegas and 1 day at the Grand Canyon. I think 1 day at the Grand Canyon is plenty of time to see one part of the canyon if that's all you're interested in, but 5 days doesn't seem like quite enough time to explore all of Las Vegas. It depends on your interests and intentions there. Honestly, I only gambled on two different occasions for under 30 minutes each time. That was enough gambling for me, since I never win anything anyway and don't like wasting my money. I'm going to break my vacation down for you and let you know the things I did, as well as some things I wish I had done.

Las Vegas, Nevada:
First off, prepare to walk A LOT. You want to stay at a hotel on the Las Vegas Strip, because that is the home of mostly everything there is to do in Vegas. I know it's expensive, but it's worth it. I stayed at Excalibur (Camelot-themed,) which proved to be one of the most affordable hotels. If you don't care about price, stay at the Venetian (Venice-themed) or Caesars Palace (Rome-themed.) Those are probably the neatest and largest of all the hotels, and they are in the center of the strip, so it's easy to get to everything, whereas Excalibur is on the very end of the south part of the strip. No matter where you stay, you should check out all the hotels - outside and inside. Every hotel has some kind of theme, shops, rides, restaurants, museums, casinos, shows, etc. You should definitely walk the south end of the strip (from Mandalay Bay Hotel down to the Venetian Hotel.) That is where pretty much everything interesting is. Past that, you start getting into the run-down part of the strip on the north end, and there's not much to see. Although, if you like shopping, which I don't, then you would probably like the Fashion Show Mall, which is just north of the Venetian on the north end of the strip.The only thing I'd absolutely suggest seeing on the north end of the strip is the Stratosphere, which is on the very end of the north side of the strip and is the highest observation tower in the world. It has a restaurant at the top that spins 360 degrees while you eat called the Top of the World Restaurant, which is where I ate the most incredible Surf 'N' Turf  and Banana's Foster in the world. Also, there are some incredible rides at the top, such as Insanity, which is a claw-shaped ride that hangs off the side of the top of the Stratosphere and spins in circles while you look at the city and mountains below you. I also did that, and it was an incredible rush. But the most amazing thrill ride at the Stratosphere is the Sky Jump, which is where you are hooked up to a harness and jump off the top of the Stratosphere. I wanted so badly to do that, but it was shut down for routine maintenance while I was there, so I didn't get to do it, but mark my words: I will do it someday!!! Now, the Stratosphere is really neat, but don't go to the north end of the strip at night, and NEVER wander past the Stratosphere on foot, even during the day. It's very sketchy back there, and when you hear about crime and shoot-outs in Las Vegas, that's where they happen.

Now, if you get tired of walking, do not take a cab. I have experienced myself how cab drivers take you the long way to get where you need to go, and they drive slowly, so that they stop at every light and run up your tab. And if you don't have cash to pay, you have to pay a $3 fee to use your card. Cab rides from one end of the strip to the other end up running you up to around $30 with tip. If you're there for a conference, the hotels will provide free shuttles for you from the airport to your hotel, and from your hotel to your conference and back. If you just go to Vegas for play, then there are shuttles that will take you up and down the strip and all the way to Fremont Street and beyond for $8 for a 24-hour pass. There is also a cheap tram that will do the same thing, but the bus is cheaper. Do NOT buy a one-way ticket. The one-way ticket is $6, and it is only good for 2 hours. You might as well buy the 24-hour pass, so you can ride the bus as many times as you want during that period of time. There are also 2-day passes, which I think are cheaper than buying two 24-hour passes back-to-back, so check into that if you'll be riding the bus a lot in a two-day span. By the way, these buses run 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. The bus I took was the Deuce. All the bus stops are for multiple buses, but make sure you're at the right one, and a lot of the buses service the same areas and use the same ticket. There are also cheap shuttles that run between the airport and the strip. Again, taking the bus is only something you should do when you feel like your feet will fall off, or if you're trying to go somewhere long distance, such as Fremont Street. Other than that, I recommend walking the strip, because you'll get to explore a whole lot more.

Make sure to take a lot of cash with you. If the bus stops don't have machines for you to buy your tickets, then you'll have to buy the ticket on the bus, and they only take cash. And sometimes the machines at the bus stops are broken, so you'll most likely pay for your ticket in cash. There are all kinds of other places that only accept cash as well. Furthermore, you are expected to tip EVERYONE in Vegas, so you'll need a lot of one dollar bills on you at all times. If you take pictures with the people dressed up on the strip, you have to tip them. You have to tip tour guides, cab drivers, servers, and bartenders. Some people say bus drivers should get a tip too. The norm there should be the norm where ever you live if you're from the United States. Remember, 15-20% for servers, based on service. Stick to 20%, as generosity will get you a long way. For bartenders, you can use the same rule if you want, but the drinks are so expensive there, I think $1 per drink is fair, which is what I think most people do everywhere. I think 15-20% is about right for your cab driver too. If your tour guide does a good job, $5 or more per person should be good for him/her.

Definitely check out as much food as you can while you're there. There are all kinds of amazing restaurants on the strip, such as the Hard Rock Cafe, the Top of the World Restaurant at the Stratosphere, Señor Frog's, Bubba Gump, etc. There are some really great restaurants in a lot of the hotels, but my favorite was an Italian restaurant inside the Venetian. I wish I could remember the name of it, but honestly all the restaurants inside the Venetian look amazing, so I don't think you can go wrong there. The one I went to was inside the hotel, but the ceiling was painted like a blue sky with fluffy clouds, so it really did look like I was sitting at a cafe outside. Don't eat at the Eiffel Tower Restaurant. It is extremely over-priced, the food is really not good, and the menu options are almost nothing. (There might be 8 things to choose from under the entrees, if that.) The Top of the World Restaurant at the Stratosphere is very pricey, but it's worth it. Definitely check out the buffets, which I think every hotel has. I ate at the Monte Carlo Buffet, and it was delicious. The buffets are expensive, but look out for coupons and discounts that people give out. Lots of people give them out on the streets, but the way I got my half-off buffet at the Monte Carlo is by buying a ticket to see a show. I bought my show from a half-off ticket booth, which you will find on the streets of the strip, and if you bought a ticket for that particular show, you got the opportunity to pay $2 for a half-off coupon for the Monte Carlo buffet, which was good for 7 days. Pay attention to these kinds of discounts and coupons that people hand out all over the strip. If you're not looking to check out the food, then buy your groceries before you head to the strip. There is no grocery store on the strip, and it was designed that way for a reason: They want you to spend your money at restaurants. The food is expensive, so I would try to collect a little bit of groceries before making your way to the strip. The only places you'll find for snacks on the strip are Walgreens and CVS. All I could manage to really find for food there was chips, and that doesn't take you very far. For dessert, check out the world famous frozen hot chocolate at Serendipity, which is located at Caesars Palace. It's not as good as the more legitimate frozen hot chocolate at the Serendipity in New York City, but it's still good.

Like I said, people hand out tons of coupons and discounts and flyers all over the streets all the time. It trashes up the place a bit, which I hate, but the coupons can be great. Never book anything, except the hotel, ahead of time when you go to Vegas, because you will get so many amazing deals just from walking down the strip. Everything is expensive in Vegas, so you want to take the coupon opportunities whenever you can. People give out coupons for restaurants, shows, activities, clubs - everything. But be careful. Don't give out your personal information to anyone. If someone tells you they can get you into a club for free or something like that, but he's not passing out flyers, walk away. He could be a predator.

If you're into clubbing, there are some really nice clubs, including Hakkasan, the Marqee, and Drai's. A lot of these clubs have world-famous DJs if you're into that. However, they are expensive, so for the ladies, try to go on ladies' night and get in for free. Also, you can use google to contact promoters about getting in for free, and a lot of people pass out flyers on the street to people who are dressed like they might be interested in clubbing. Sometimes these are passes to get into $100 clubs for free, so be on the lookout, and take all the flyers you can get. Just don't litter if you want to get rid of them, or I will hunt you down myself. If you want to get in touch with your sexy side, then Vegas is the place for you, because "what happens in Vegas stays in Vegas." There are a lot of sexy clubs like Gentlemen's Clubs and Swinger's Clubs all over the place. Most Gentlemen's Clubs offer a free limo or party bus ride to the club with free entry, as long as you buy 2 drinks there. (I got handed these flyers all over the streets while I was in Vegas.) Other than that, I wouldn't drink at any club. The drinks are incredibly expensive, sometimes priced at $20 minimum per cocktail. It's insane. If you're going to drink, do it at the hotel beforehand. Just be careful on the streets if you plan to do that. Yard glasses are fun, but they don't have a lot of alcohol in them. However, they are fun, so I'd recommend getting at least one of those on your trip. There is no open container law in Vegas, so you can carry alcohol on the streets, which is fun. There are several Fat Tuesdays on the strip, so check out those drinks. They're delicious alcoholic slushies. My favorite is the Vodka Red Bull, which the Fat Tuesday between the Venetian and Harrah's Hotel carries. You can keep the cups and refill them for a discount at any Fat Tuesday anywhere.

I think this is really important, so I'm going to throw this out there: do NOT take your children to Las Vegas. There is literally nothing for children there, and it will only impede on  your vacation. Vegas is a party city. You go to drink, gamble, party, and go clubbing. Does any of that sound interesting or possible for children? NO! So leave the tots at home. This is an adult vacation, and I can guarantee you, your kids will see a lot of things you don't want them to see if you take them to Vegas - not just inside the casinos, but even out on the streets, where lots of people run around virtually naked. Everything in this city is all about sex - even the activities and the shows. You don't want to scar your children in Vegas, so leave them at home!

Ok, I'm going to go through all of the entertainment I did day-by-day. As soon as I checked into the hotel, I went straight to the Marquee Day Club at the Cosmopolitan Hotel for a rave pool party. The drinks were like $16, so I wish I had drunk whatever alcohol I wanted to drink before I went, because I spent the whole party sober. For those of you who know anything about raves, you can't spend them sober, or they're pretty boring. So if you're not into partying, which I'm not very into, then don't worry about the raves. The heated pool felt nice, though. And if you're into DJs, these parties have lots of world-famous DJs you might like, so do your research about those. That night, we decided to walk from our hotel all the way to the Las Vegas sign, which is quite a bit south of Mandalay Bay Hotel. I would recommend finding transportation down there if you go at night like I did, because it's a little sketchy that far past the strip, but I definitely recommend seeing the sign. If you walk, get ready for a bit of a walk, because it's not very close to the strip, but it's definitely walkable.

The second day, I ran around the south end of the strip all the way up to the Venetian. I rode the High Roller Ferris Wheel, which is the highest observation wheel in the world. It goes around so slowly, you don't feel like you're even moving, and they let you buy alcoholic drinks at the bar there and take it up with you. It's worth it, I think. I ate lunch at an Italian restaurant, ate gelato, and rode a gondola at the Venetian, and that was spectacular. That night, I rode a helicopter over the strip when it got dark, and that was definitely worth it. It's not at all like a plane ride, and be prepared to be a bit afraid, as helicopters are not as smooth a ride as planes. Do NOT go on a helicopter ride with children. They will scream the whole way, whether out of joy or fear, and it will scare the crap out of you AND the pilot. You do NOT want to ride in a helicopter with a pilot who keeps being startled and spooked by children who can't control themselves. This is a great time throw out there what I said earlier about leaving your kids at home.

The third day, I walked the north end of the strip, which was an utter waste. There is almost nothing to see up there, except for the Stratosphere, as I said. But that day was just for exploring, so I explored the north end of the strip and then went back to the hotel for a rest. On the way, I checked out an Oxygen Bar at my hotel, which is definitely worth it. It'll calm you down or give you energy, depending on what you need. However, I have seen other places you can do those, so you might want to skip it, although it only takes 20 minutes. But like I always say, never do anything in Vegas that you can do at home, or you'll waste your vacation, as there are way too many things to do in Vegas to do them all. That night, I ate a very displeasing meal at the Eiffel Tower Hotel. Then I went to a show, which I fully recommend doing at least one while you're there. The Cirque du Soleil shows are really neat. The one I saw was a Cirque du Soleil show called Zumanity, which I recommend if you're extremely open with sexuality, as it is a sexually explicit show. The host is a hilarious drag queen, and the actors act out sexual fantasies (partially dressed) while performing tricks that require ample flexibility, talent, extreme hard work, and bravery. Some other shows I wish I had seen include Thunder from Down Under and the Chippendales, which are sexy shows for women to enjoy male dancers. Also, I wish I had seen a magic show. The most famous Vegas magicians are David Copperfield and Criss Angel. As I mentioned before, buy your show tickets on the street in Vegas. You can buy same day tickets for up to 90% off at certain places that sell show tickets on the strip. It depends on your age, though. If you're under 25, the best discount you'll find is 50% off, but if you're over 25, you'll find insane discounts. Later that night, I went to Drai's night club, which was neat. I'm not really into clubbing, but I can tell it's definitely a place where people who love partying would like to go. There was a DJ and dancers in a huge room with a disco ball, and there were a ton of people. I got in for free by going with a local. Local women get in for free, and local men get in for free as long as they're accompanied by a woman, so my friend and I went with a local guy we met on the strip, so that we could get each other into the club.

The next day, I went to the Minus 5 Ice Bar at Mandalay Bay. There is also one at the Monte Carlo. It was a small bar, but it was very neat and worth a look. They give you a huge cloak and gloves to wear, which keep you surprisingly warm. Be prepared to either sneak pictures or pay for pictures, because they don't allow you take cameras or cell phones in the bar with you. That night, I went to Fremont Street, which is really the only place you really need to check out that is off the strip. A lot of the buses will take you there, since it's much too far to walk. Fremont Street has a huge light show on a ceiling that covers the street, as well as a lot of casinos and restaurants and a neat zipline that zips over people's heads while they're walking down the street. I want to ride that zipline the next time I go to Vegas, because you get to zip superman-style, and I've never zipped that way before. Binion's is a casino that has a million dollars encased for you to take a picture with. It's free. All you have to do is tip the lady who takes a picture of you. Later that night, my friend & I checked out some clubs, one of which picked us up in a limo. The next day, I checked out the restaurant and rides at the Stratosphere that I told you about in the first paragraph of this entry. I'm so sad I didn't get to do the Sky Jump, but I will some day! If you're into thrill rides, definitely check out the Stratosphere. It's free entry to the observation tower if you eat at the restaurant. Otherwise, it's $20 for entry. Check out the deals they have for the rides. Go into the hotel first before going to the observation tower, because you can sign up to be apart of the "Taking Back Vegas" club and get a 10% off coupon for the restaurant, $20 off coupon for the Sky Jump, discounts for the other rides, etc. It's free to sign up, and they give you a huge coupon book for things to do all over Vegas. If you like thrill rides, check out the zipline at Fremont Street that I previously mentioned, or if you want something bigger, check out the huge tower-to-tower zipline at the Rio Hotel just off the strip. New York New York Hotel on the strip has a roller coaster inside the hotel, which is neat too. I didn't do any of these things, though. I stuck with the Stratosphere rides personally. That night, I went to Madame Tussaud's Wax Museum at the Venetian, and it was pretty cool. I got a photo with a wax version of Channing Tatum, so it was worth it. :) The celebrities are so life-like. I also checked out the Hershey's Store at New York New York Hotel, which was neat. They have giant Hershey Bars and Hershey's Kisses. They also have a set of computers where you can personally design your own Hershey Bar wrapper. Then they print it out for you and put it over a giant Hershey Bar for you. It's a great gift idea and only costs $12.

Grand Canyon, Arizona:
I took a tour from Las Vegas to the west side of the Grand Canyon, which was only a 4-hour drive there and 4-hour drive back. I'd definitely suggest spending a day at the Grand Canyon if you're thinking of going to Las Vegas. The west side was really neat, but honestly, if you're going to go to the Grand Canyon, go to the east side, so you can see Horseshoe Bend. That's my biggest regret pertaining to the Grand Canyon. But if you do choose the west side, listen to your tour guide. There are three stops the bus will take you to. Don't go to the first one. It's a total waste. You want to spend your time at the second and third stops. The second stop has the Sky Walk, which is a glass-bottom bridge that sticks out of the canyon, and you get to walk on it. They don't allow cameras, so prepare to pay $16 for a photo that a photographer will take of you out there. The Sky Walk is about $35, and honestly, it was neat, but I don't know if it was worth $35. The third stop has the best view and the food. Now, seriously, take your own food with you.They say it's Native American food, but it's shredded BBQ beef and chicken with mashed potatoes, bread, salad, and veggies. And it is the most low quality food they could possibly serve you, and the people who serve the food are not friendly. Spend most of your time exploring, because they may tell you you have 3 or 4 hours there (if you take a tour from Las Vegas, like I did,) but the time passes by very fast. If you like shopping, check out the souvenir shops there, as they are huge and have all kinds of neat Native American artifacts there. If you have the means, take a plane or helicopter tour over the Grand Canyon. I was particularly interested in the glass-bottom helicopters tours over the canyon, but they were $500, so I didn't get a chance to do it. If you're planning on doing a tour to the Grand Canyon from Las Vegas, plan on extending that tour out to Antelope Canyon, which is 2 hours north of the Grand Canyon. It is the most incredible-looking canyon I've ever even seen pictures of, and I'm so sad I didn't make time for that in my trip. If you want pictures of Antelope Canyon, check out Peter Lik's photos. He is a world famous photographer and my favorite photographer, who includes a lot of Antelope Canyon in his photos. From what I've been told, there are all kinds of canyons in Arizona that may even be neater than the Grand Canyon.

Ok, to sum up, this was an amazing trip. I wouldn't change much about this trip if I could go back and do so. Do your research before you go, because there are a TON of things to do, and you want to make the most of your trip. You'll want to make sure you figure out the discounts you can get, and take advantage of them. Book everything on the strip, and look out for the coupons people give you on the streets for food, drinks, shows, and clubs. Don't be afraid to talk to these people if they're handing out flyers and coupons. This isn't Atlanta. And make sure to go during the winter, because it's warm but not hot. I went in February, which is the coldest month back home in Georgia. While it was snowing back home, I was basking in 70 degree sunlight. However, you don't want to go during the summer, because it is entirely too hot to feel comfortable. The only thing that makes it better than Georgia summers is the fact that it's the desert, so it's dry heat. But I would still suggest going during the winter. Also, February is the slow season in Las Vegas, so you won't have to wait in any lines or compete for a seat anywhere. Oh! And if you want to extend your trip a little more, there is a bus that will take you from Las Vegas to Los Angeles, California and vice versa for $5 one way! It's called the Mega Bus. I wish I had known about this sooner, or I would have taken advantage of that. Good luck on your trip, and if you need anymore information or advice, let me know!

Me with the Las Vegas sign.

Me in front of my hotel, Excalibur.

 Drai's Night Club at the Cromwell Hotel.

 Minus 5 Ice Bar at Mandalay Bay. Everything is made of ice, including the cocktail glasses.

 Insanity on top of the Stratosphere. Yes, I rode this.

 My future husband, Channing Tatum, or at least the wax version of him at Madame Tussaud's Wax Museum at the Venetian Hotel.

My friend Isabela and me playing around at the west side of the Grand Canyon.

This is my favorite Antelope Canyon photo by Peter Lik. I wish I had gotten the chance to go there. I will someday!