Tuesday, February 24, 2015

#2: Greece, Summer 2008

In the summer of 2008, I went on the most incredible trip to 3 places in Greece. I was only 17 when I went, and now I'm 24, so I'm probably writing this way too late to remember a lot of things, but I'll tell you what I do remember. I went with my Dad, step mom, and one of my sisters. My other sister and my brother were very little, so they stayed home. I would always suggest leaving small children at home for extravagant vacations, especially when they don't specifically cater to children.

Traveling through Europe is easy for Americans, because most places, such as Greece, don't require you to have a visa, but you must have a passport. Now, as far as food goes, definitely try out Greek food. They have amazing crepes and my all time favorite Greek food, Moussaka. My favorite Moussaka is Eggplant Moussaka. Gyros are good too. Check out lamb gyros. Now, remember, 18 is the drinking age in Greece, so if you bring your teenage son/daughter with you, let him/her drink! It's an experience they won't get to have until they turn 21 back in the United States. So let them have this. Just make sure to stay with them the whole night, and don't turn them loose. You can play D.D. for them for at least one night, and they don't even have to get drunk. At least let them have one drink. I had a lot of shots when I was in Greece, and I never got drunk, but I had a great time. Also, you should check out the nude beaches in Greece. They are not sexy at all, but they will give you lots of good laughs, and you'll have a lot to tell people when you get home. And you don't have to go naked. You can go completely dressed, but you'll see a lot! Also, swim in the Mediterranean Sea or, if possible, the Aegean Sea! You may not get another chance to do it in a long time, so check it out. The water's fine! As for where to stay, check out hostels. They are very cheap, and you can even get a cheap private room. That will make your money go farther. As far as the time of year to go, I believe I went during the end of May and beginning of June, and it was beautiful and warm but not too hot.

The first city my family and I went to was Athens, a classic. We stayed at a hotel overlooking the Parthenon on top of the Acropolis, which was amazing. Try to stay somewhere near the Parthenon, because that's where a ton of things to see and do are. It's a lot of walking, but not as much as if you were to stay a ways away from the city center. We did a lot of sight-seeing, mostly through tours. I would only suggest doing tours if you're afraid to venture out on your own or are bad with directions. If you like to explore, however, do it all on your own. It's a lot more fun and saves you time to do what you really want to do, not just what the tour takes you to do. Definitely climb to the top of the Acropolis to see the Parthenon. Definitely go see the Temple of Athena and the Temple of Poseidon. See as many temples as you can, as well as the Greek Colosseum. There is amazing architecture all over Greece, so make sure to see everything you can while you're there. If you like shoes, check out the sandal shops in Athens. The Greeks make the cutest strappy sandals. I bought a pair, but my sister stole them from and never returned them, although she will tell you otherwise. Anyway, I miss those shoes! Also, go see The Poet/The Sandalmaker if you like shoes. He's very famous in Greece and makes some neat shoes. He is not a must-do, but if you like shoes, I recommend paying him a visit. Check out as many outdoor cafes as you can. They are beautiful. However, homeless people will constantly come around and try to sell you things. The weirdest thing a guy ever tried to sell to me was a brillo pad, of which he demonstrated the use by rubbing on his feet. Gross. Yes, please, I'll take 10! These people don't speak English, so just ignore them. Also, children will come around and beg for food, so if you want to help them out, don't give them money. Instead, give them your leftovers if you aren't going to eat them. They will be extremely happy, take it from my personal experience.

The second place we went to was an island called Santorini, Greece. It was amazing! You know how you see pictures of steep cliffs with amazing blue and white houses going all the way down the cliffs? Santorini is where you'll see these. My dad and I rode donkeys up a mountain here, and my family and I climbed a volcano. There are all kinds of nice family-owned hotels/hostels for to stay in Santorini. They will be a lot cheaper than the big, name-brand hotels. Don't worry about those. That's just not how you're supposed to kick it in Santorini.

The third place we went to was Crete, Greece, which is another island, but we must not have spent much time there, because all I remember is meeting two really buff men at an outside cafe. I'm pretty sure they were in the Olympics or something. And the other thing I remember is seeing a Greek show with lots of wine and dancing. I'm not really sure about a lot to do in Crete, but honestly, I would suggest spending more time in Athens and Santorini. And there are a lot of other cool cities to see in Greece, such as Delphi if you like architecture and archaeology, as well as Sparta if you want to check out cities from old Greek mythology. While you're in Greece, you should also go to Istanbul, Turkey to see Hagia Sophia, other mosques, palaces, basilicas, and some amazing architecture. I wish I had done that. I know I will someday!

I'm sure there's a lot more to do in Greece, but this trip was a long time ago, so I don't remember every little detail from it. I know I loved it and want to go back, that's for sure! Anyway, let me know if you have anymore questions about this trip or need any advice. I highly recommend this trip. It's my favorite European country of the 4 European countries I've visited, and it's one of my favorite countries in the world that I've ever visited.

 The Temple of Poseidon. There's plenty where this came from.

 This kind of architecture is all over Santorini.


#1: Las Vegas & the Grand Canyon, February 2015

I just got back from an incredible trip to Las Vegas, Nevada, as well as the Grand Canyon, Arizona. I just started this new blog and figure I might share my world travels with you guys, so maybe I can offer up some advice if anyone is thinking of traveling to the places I've already been. First of all, I would absolutely recommend going to both of these places. I spent 5 days in Las Vegas and 1 day at the Grand Canyon. I think 1 day at the Grand Canyon is plenty of time to see one part of the canyon if that's all you're interested in, but 5 days doesn't seem like quite enough time to explore all of Las Vegas. It depends on your interests and intentions there. Honestly, I only gambled on two different occasions for under 30 minutes each time. That was enough gambling for me, since I never win anything anyway and don't like wasting my money. I'm going to break my vacation down for you and let you know the things I did, as well as some things I wish I had done.

Las Vegas, Nevada:
First off, prepare to walk A LOT. You want to stay at a hotel on the Las Vegas Strip, because that is the home of mostly everything there is to do in Vegas. I know it's expensive, but it's worth it. I stayed at Excalibur (Camelot-themed,) which proved to be one of the most affordable hotels. If you don't care about price, stay at the Venetian (Venice-themed) or Caesars Palace (Rome-themed.) Those are probably the neatest and largest of all the hotels, and they are in the center of the strip, so it's easy to get to everything, whereas Excalibur is on the very end of the south part of the strip. No matter where you stay, you should check out all the hotels - outside and inside. Every hotel has some kind of theme, shops, rides, restaurants, museums, casinos, shows, etc. You should definitely walk the south end of the strip (from Mandalay Bay Hotel down to the Venetian Hotel.) That is where pretty much everything interesting is. Past that, you start getting into the run-down part of the strip on the north end, and there's not much to see. Although, if you like shopping, which I don't, then you would probably like the Fashion Show Mall, which is just north of the Venetian on the north end of the strip.The only thing I'd absolutely suggest seeing on the north end of the strip is the Stratosphere, which is on the very end of the north side of the strip and is the highest observation tower in the world. It has a restaurant at the top that spins 360 degrees while you eat called the Top of the World Restaurant, which is where I ate the most incredible Surf 'N' Turf  and Banana's Foster in the world. Also, there are some incredible rides at the top, such as Insanity, which is a claw-shaped ride that hangs off the side of the top of the Stratosphere and spins in circles while you look at the city and mountains below you. I also did that, and it was an incredible rush. But the most amazing thrill ride at the Stratosphere is the Sky Jump, which is where you are hooked up to a harness and jump off the top of the Stratosphere. I wanted so badly to do that, but it was shut down for routine maintenance while I was there, so I didn't get to do it, but mark my words: I will do it someday!!! Now, the Stratosphere is really neat, but don't go to the north end of the strip at night, and NEVER wander past the Stratosphere on foot, even during the day. It's very sketchy back there, and when you hear about crime and shoot-outs in Las Vegas, that's where they happen.

Now, if you get tired of walking, do not take a cab. I have experienced myself how cab drivers take you the long way to get where you need to go, and they drive slowly, so that they stop at every light and run up your tab. And if you don't have cash to pay, you have to pay a $3 fee to use your card. Cab rides from one end of the strip to the other end up running you up to around $30 with tip. If you're there for a conference, the hotels will provide free shuttles for you from the airport to your hotel, and from your hotel to your conference and back. If you just go to Vegas for play, then there are shuttles that will take you up and down the strip and all the way to Fremont Street and beyond for $8 for a 24-hour pass. There is also a cheap tram that will do the same thing, but the bus is cheaper. Do NOT buy a one-way ticket. The one-way ticket is $6, and it is only good for 2 hours. You might as well buy the 24-hour pass, so you can ride the bus as many times as you want during that period of time. There are also 2-day passes, which I think are cheaper than buying two 24-hour passes back-to-back, so check into that if you'll be riding the bus a lot in a two-day span. By the way, these buses run 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. The bus I took was the Deuce. All the bus stops are for multiple buses, but make sure you're at the right one, and a lot of the buses service the same areas and use the same ticket. There are also cheap shuttles that run between the airport and the strip. Again, taking the bus is only something you should do when you feel like your feet will fall off, or if you're trying to go somewhere long distance, such as Fremont Street. Other than that, I recommend walking the strip, because you'll get to explore a whole lot more.

Make sure to take a lot of cash with you. If the bus stops don't have machines for you to buy your tickets, then you'll have to buy the ticket on the bus, and they only take cash. And sometimes the machines at the bus stops are broken, so you'll most likely pay for your ticket in cash. There are all kinds of other places that only accept cash as well. Furthermore, you are expected to tip EVERYONE in Vegas, so you'll need a lot of one dollar bills on you at all times. If you take pictures with the people dressed up on the strip, you have to tip them. You have to tip tour guides, cab drivers, servers, and bartenders. Some people say bus drivers should get a tip too. The norm there should be the norm where ever you live if you're from the United States. Remember, 15-20% for servers, based on service. Stick to 20%, as generosity will get you a long way. For bartenders, you can use the same rule if you want, but the drinks are so expensive there, I think $1 per drink is fair, which is what I think most people do everywhere. I think 15-20% is about right for your cab driver too. If your tour guide does a good job, $5 or more per person should be good for him/her.

Definitely check out as much food as you can while you're there. There are all kinds of amazing restaurants on the strip, such as the Hard Rock Cafe, the Top of the World Restaurant at the Stratosphere, SeƱor Frog's, Bubba Gump, etc. There are some really great restaurants in a lot of the hotels, but my favorite was an Italian restaurant inside the Venetian. I wish I could remember the name of it, but honestly all the restaurants inside the Venetian look amazing, so I don't think you can go wrong there. The one I went to was inside the hotel, but the ceiling was painted like a blue sky with fluffy clouds, so it really did look like I was sitting at a cafe outside. Don't eat at the Eiffel Tower Restaurant. It is extremely over-priced, the food is really not good, and the menu options are almost nothing. (There might be 8 things to choose from under the entrees, if that.) The Top of the World Restaurant at the Stratosphere is very pricey, but it's worth it. Definitely check out the buffets, which I think every hotel has. I ate at the Monte Carlo Buffet, and it was delicious. The buffets are expensive, but look out for coupons and discounts that people give out. Lots of people give them out on the streets, but the way I got my half-off buffet at the Monte Carlo is by buying a ticket to see a show. I bought my show from a half-off ticket booth, which you will find on the streets of the strip, and if you bought a ticket for that particular show, you got the opportunity to pay $2 for a half-off coupon for the Monte Carlo buffet, which was good for 7 days. Pay attention to these kinds of discounts and coupons that people hand out all over the strip. If you're not looking to check out the food, then buy your groceries before you head to the strip. There is no grocery store on the strip, and it was designed that way for a reason: They want you to spend your money at restaurants. The food is expensive, so I would try to collect a little bit of groceries before making your way to the strip. The only places you'll find for snacks on the strip are Walgreens and CVS. All I could manage to really find for food there was chips, and that doesn't take you very far. For dessert, check out the world famous frozen hot chocolate at Serendipity, which is located at Caesars Palace. It's not as good as the more legitimate frozen hot chocolate at the Serendipity in New York City, but it's still good.

Like I said, people hand out tons of coupons and discounts and flyers all over the streets all the time. It trashes up the place a bit, which I hate, but the coupons can be great. Never book anything, except the hotel, ahead of time when you go to Vegas, because you will get so many amazing deals just from walking down the strip. Everything is expensive in Vegas, so you want to take the coupon opportunities whenever you can. People give out coupons for restaurants, shows, activities, clubs - everything. But be careful. Don't give out your personal information to anyone. If someone tells you they can get you into a club for free or something like that, but he's not passing out flyers, walk away. He could be a predator.

If you're into clubbing, there are some really nice clubs, including Hakkasan, the Marqee, and Drai's. A lot of these clubs have world-famous DJs if you're into that. However, they are expensive, so for the ladies, try to go on ladies' night and get in for free. Also, you can use google to contact promoters about getting in for free, and a lot of people pass out flyers on the street to people who are dressed like they might be interested in clubbing. Sometimes these are passes to get into $100 clubs for free, so be on the lookout, and take all the flyers you can get. Just don't litter if you want to get rid of them, or I will hunt you down myself. If you want to get in touch with your sexy side, then Vegas is the place for you, because "what happens in Vegas stays in Vegas." There are a lot of sexy clubs like Gentlemen's Clubs and Swinger's Clubs all over the place. Most Gentlemen's Clubs offer a free limo or party bus ride to the club with free entry, as long as you buy 2 drinks there. (I got handed these flyers all over the streets while I was in Vegas.) Other than that, I wouldn't drink at any club. The drinks are incredibly expensive, sometimes priced at $20 minimum per cocktail. It's insane. If you're going to drink, do it at the hotel beforehand. Just be careful on the streets if you plan to do that. Yard glasses are fun, but they don't have a lot of alcohol in them. However, they are fun, so I'd recommend getting at least one of those on your trip. There is no open container law in Vegas, so you can carry alcohol on the streets, which is fun. There are several Fat Tuesdays on the strip, so check out those drinks. They're delicious alcoholic slushies. My favorite is the Vodka Red Bull, which the Fat Tuesday between the Venetian and Harrah's Hotel carries. You can keep the cups and refill them for a discount at any Fat Tuesday anywhere.

I think this is really important, so I'm going to throw this out there: do NOT take your children to Las Vegas. There is literally nothing for children there, and it will only impede on  your vacation. Vegas is a party city. You go to drink, gamble, party, and go clubbing. Does any of that sound interesting or possible for children? NO! So leave the tots at home. This is an adult vacation, and I can guarantee you, your kids will see a lot of things you don't want them to see if you take them to Vegas - not just inside the casinos, but even out on the streets, where lots of people run around virtually naked. Everything in this city is all about sex - even the activities and the shows. You don't want to scar your children in Vegas, so leave them at home!

Ok, I'm going to go through all of the entertainment I did day-by-day. As soon as I checked into the hotel, I went straight to the Marquee Day Club at the Cosmopolitan Hotel for a rave pool party. The drinks were like $16, so I wish I had drunk whatever alcohol I wanted to drink before I went, because I spent the whole party sober. For those of you who know anything about raves, you can't spend them sober, or they're pretty boring. So if you're not into partying, which I'm not very into, then don't worry about the raves. The heated pool felt nice, though. And if you're into DJs, these parties have lots of world-famous DJs you might like, so do your research about those. That night, we decided to walk from our hotel all the way to the Las Vegas sign, which is quite a bit south of Mandalay Bay Hotel. I would recommend finding transportation down there if you go at night like I did, because it's a little sketchy that far past the strip, but I definitely recommend seeing the sign. If you walk, get ready for a bit of a walk, because it's not very close to the strip, but it's definitely walkable.

The second day, I ran around the south end of the strip all the way up to the Venetian. I rode the High Roller Ferris Wheel, which is the highest observation wheel in the world. It goes around so slowly, you don't feel like you're even moving, and they let you buy alcoholic drinks at the bar there and take it up with you. It's worth it, I think. I ate lunch at an Italian restaurant, ate gelato, and rode a gondola at the Venetian, and that was spectacular. That night, I rode a helicopter over the strip when it got dark, and that was definitely worth it. It's not at all like a plane ride, and be prepared to be a bit afraid, as helicopters are not as smooth a ride as planes. Do NOT go on a helicopter ride with children. They will scream the whole way, whether out of joy or fear, and it will scare the crap out of you AND the pilot. You do NOT want to ride in a helicopter with a pilot who keeps being startled and spooked by children who can't control themselves. This is a great time throw out there what I said earlier about leaving your kids at home.

The third day, I walked the north end of the strip, which was an utter waste. There is almost nothing to see up there, except for the Stratosphere, as I said. But that day was just for exploring, so I explored the north end of the strip and then went back to the hotel for a rest. On the way, I checked out an Oxygen Bar at my hotel, which is definitely worth it. It'll calm you down or give you energy, depending on what you need. However, I have seen other places you can do those, so you might want to skip it, although it only takes 20 minutes. But like I always say, never do anything in Vegas that you can do at home, or you'll waste your vacation, as there are way too many things to do in Vegas to do them all. That night, I ate a very displeasing meal at the Eiffel Tower Hotel. Then I went to a show, which I fully recommend doing at least one while you're there. The Cirque du Soleil shows are really neat. The one I saw was a Cirque du Soleil show called Zumanity, which I recommend if you're extremely open with sexuality, as it is a sexually explicit show. The host is a hilarious drag queen, and the actors act out sexual fantasies (partially dressed) while performing tricks that require ample flexibility, talent, extreme hard work, and bravery. Some other shows I wish I had seen include Thunder from Down Under and the Chippendales, which are sexy shows for women to enjoy male dancers. Also, I wish I had seen a magic show. The most famous Vegas magicians are David Copperfield and Criss Angel. As I mentioned before, buy your show tickets on the street in Vegas. You can buy same day tickets for up to 90% off at certain places that sell show tickets on the strip. It depends on your age, though. If you're under 25, the best discount you'll find is 50% off, but if you're over 25, you'll find insane discounts. Later that night, I went to Drai's night club, which was neat. I'm not really into clubbing, but I can tell it's definitely a place where people who love partying would like to go. There was a DJ and dancers in a huge room with a disco ball, and there were a ton of people. I got in for free by going with a local. Local women get in for free, and local men get in for free as long as they're accompanied by a woman, so my friend and I went with a local guy we met on the strip, so that we could get each other into the club.

The next day, I went to the Minus 5 Ice Bar at Mandalay Bay. There is also one at the Monte Carlo. It was a small bar, but it was very neat and worth a look. They give you a huge cloak and gloves to wear, which keep you surprisingly warm. Be prepared to either sneak pictures or pay for pictures, because they don't allow you take cameras or cell phones in the bar with you. That night, I went to Fremont Street, which is really the only place you really need to check out that is off the strip. A lot of the buses will take you there, since it's much too far to walk. Fremont Street has a huge light show on a ceiling that covers the street, as well as a lot of casinos and restaurants and a neat zipline that zips over people's heads while they're walking down the street. I want to ride that zipline the next time I go to Vegas, because you get to zip superman-style, and I've never zipped that way before. Binion's is a casino that has a million dollars encased for you to take a picture with. It's free. All you have to do is tip the lady who takes a picture of you. Later that night, my friend & I checked out some clubs, one of which picked us up in a limo. The next day, I checked out the restaurant and rides at the Stratosphere that I told you about in the first paragraph of this entry. I'm so sad I didn't get to do the Sky Jump, but I will some day! If you're into thrill rides, definitely check out the Stratosphere. It's free entry to the observation tower if you eat at the restaurant. Otherwise, it's $20 for entry. Check out the deals they have for the rides. Go into the hotel first before going to the observation tower, because you can sign up to be apart of the "Taking Back Vegas" club and get a 10% off coupon for the restaurant, $20 off coupon for the Sky Jump, discounts for the other rides, etc. It's free to sign up, and they give you a huge coupon book for things to do all over Vegas. If you like thrill rides, check out the zipline at Fremont Street that I previously mentioned, or if you want something bigger, check out the huge tower-to-tower zipline at the Rio Hotel just off the strip. New York New York Hotel on the strip has a roller coaster inside the hotel, which is neat too. I didn't do any of these things, though. I stuck with the Stratosphere rides personally. That night, I went to Madame Tussaud's Wax Museum at the Venetian, and it was pretty cool. I got a photo with a wax version of Channing Tatum, so it was worth it. :) The celebrities are so life-like. I also checked out the Hershey's Store at New York New York Hotel, which was neat. They have giant Hershey Bars and Hershey's Kisses. They also have a set of computers where you can personally design your own Hershey Bar wrapper. Then they print it out for you and put it over a giant Hershey Bar for you. It's a great gift idea and only costs $12.

Grand Canyon, Arizona:
I took a tour from Las Vegas to the west side of the Grand Canyon, which was only a 4-hour drive there and 4-hour drive back. I'd definitely suggest spending a day at the Grand Canyon if you're thinking of going to Las Vegas. The west side was really neat, but honestly, if you're going to go to the Grand Canyon, go to the east side, so you can see Horseshoe Bend. That's my biggest regret pertaining to the Grand Canyon. But if you do choose the west side, listen to your tour guide. There are three stops the bus will take you to. Don't go to the first one. It's a total waste. You want to spend your time at the second and third stops. The second stop has the Sky Walk, which is a glass-bottom bridge that sticks out of the canyon, and you get to walk on it. They don't allow cameras, so prepare to pay $16 for a photo that a photographer will take of you out there. The Sky Walk is about $35, and honestly, it was neat, but I don't know if it was worth $35. The third stop has the best view and the food. Now, seriously, take your own food with you.They say it's Native American food, but it's shredded BBQ beef and chicken with mashed potatoes, bread, salad, and veggies. And it is the most low quality food they could possibly serve you, and the people who serve the food are not friendly. Spend most of your time exploring, because they may tell you you have 3 or 4 hours there (if you take a tour from Las Vegas, like I did,) but the time passes by very fast. If you like shopping, check out the souvenir shops there, as they are huge and have all kinds of neat Native American artifacts there. If you have the means, take a plane or helicopter tour over the Grand Canyon. I was particularly interested in the glass-bottom helicopters tours over the canyon, but they were $500, so I didn't get a chance to do it. If you're planning on doing a tour to the Grand Canyon from Las Vegas, plan on extending that tour out to Antelope Canyon, which is 2 hours north of the Grand Canyon. It is the most incredible-looking canyon I've ever even seen pictures of, and I'm so sad I didn't make time for that in my trip. If you want pictures of Antelope Canyon, check out Peter Lik's photos. He is a world famous photographer and my favorite photographer, who includes a lot of Antelope Canyon in his photos. From what I've been told, there are all kinds of canyons in Arizona that may even be neater than the Grand Canyon.

Ok, to sum up, this was an amazing trip. I wouldn't change much about this trip if I could go back and do so. Do your research before you go, because there are a TON of things to do, and you want to make the most of your trip. You'll want to make sure you figure out the discounts you can get, and take advantage of them. Book everything on the strip, and look out for the coupons people give you on the streets for food, drinks, shows, and clubs. Don't be afraid to talk to these people if they're handing out flyers and coupons. This isn't Atlanta. And make sure to go during the winter, because it's warm but not hot. I went in February, which is the coldest month back home in Georgia. While it was snowing back home, I was basking in 70 degree sunlight. However, you don't want to go during the summer, because it is entirely too hot to feel comfortable. The only thing that makes it better than Georgia summers is the fact that it's the desert, so it's dry heat. But I would still suggest going during the winter. Also, February is the slow season in Las Vegas, so you won't have to wait in any lines or compete for a seat anywhere. Oh! And if you want to extend your trip a little more, there is a bus that will take you from Las Vegas to Los Angeles, California and vice versa for $5 one way! It's called the Mega Bus. I wish I had known about this sooner, or I would have taken advantage of that. Good luck on your trip, and if you need anymore information or advice, let me know!

Me with the Las Vegas sign.

Me in front of my hotel, Excalibur.

 Drai's Night Club at the Cromwell Hotel.

 Minus 5 Ice Bar at Mandalay Bay. Everything is made of ice, including the cocktail glasses.

 Insanity on top of the Stratosphere. Yes, I rode this.

 My future husband, Channing Tatum, or at least the wax version of him at Madame Tussaud's Wax Museum at the Venetian Hotel.

My friend Isabela and me playing around at the west side of the Grand Canyon.

This is my favorite Antelope Canyon photo by Peter Lik. I wish I had gotten the chance to go there. I will someday!